Thanks to a grant from "Awards for All", Fordingbridge Camera Club has the ability to project digital images for competitions and for guest speakers' presentations. The internal print competitions, both open subject and set subject, are accessible to all members. No distinction is made between darkroom and digital work, trade or home processed images.

Club competitions are run at two levels, "General" and "Advanced". New members will have their work assessed when they enter their first competition - unless they feel that their experience merits the Advanced level. There is a system in place for promotion to the Advanced level based upon competition results. The only difference between the two levels is that the judge is asked to be more supportive with comments in the General section. Members can ask to change level at the start of the year. The work of some recent merit winners can be seen in the “Gallery” pages on this website. Some members enter national and international competitions and their achievements are recorded on the "Member's Awards" page. Fordingbridge Camera Club is involved with inter-club competitions in the southern region under the auspices of the Stour and Avon Photographic Alliance (SAPA) and the Southern Counties Photographic Federation (SCPF). The Club has a selection committee which convenes to choose from members' pictures to represent Fordingbridge in these competitions.

Regular meetings are held on alternate Wednesday evenings but extra meetings are held most months on the in-between Wednesdays and are known as Creative Photography evenings. These informal get-togethers include tutorials, practical exercises and discussions on all aspects of digital photography and imaging. Tutorials are conducted with the interests of newer members in mind to help develop camera and computer skills. A £2 per person is charged per meeting but free tea/coffee is provided. Visitors pay £5 for a standard meeting which is refundable if joining that evening. Higher charges may apply for special events. Annual subscription is £55 unless the junior member is under 18 when it is £27.50. Junior membership will follow the current recommendations of the PAGB for junior members.

The club operates a mentoring scheme in which some members with particular skills and knowledge are prepared to coach others on a one-to-one basis. A contact list of mentors is made available to all members. The Club committee is keen to help improve members' knowledge and ability as photographers, thereby elevating the standard of FCC work. The club environment is good for the exchange of ideas and tips on subjects of common interest.

The club also has self help groups for the major camera makes. These have impromptu meetings in some of the alternate extra meetings and can provide camera specific help and guidance.

Occasionally members' work is displayed at exhibitions open to the general public and from time to time photographic outings are run.

The Avonway premises were refurbished in 2012 and improved facilities for meetings are now in use. Occasionally social gatherings are arranged to foster a fun, friendly and interactive environment.
There is a disabled parking space at the rear of the building. Access into the building is wheelchair friendly and a disabled toilet is available.

The rules for the club competitions and the club constitution are in the Fordingbridge Camera Club Booklet

Chairman Julie Francis 01425 650540 jules4566@gmail.com
Vice Chair Position Vacant
Hon. Secretary Rex Waygood 01425 673216 hon.sec@fordingbridgecameraclub.org.uk
Treasurer Ashley Francis 01425 650540
Membership Secretary Gemma Burden 01202 695408 funkychicken_83@hotmail.com
Programme Secretary Steve Purdy 07540 137050 steve.purdy@fordingbridgecc.co.uk
Outside Competitions Sec. & SCPF Rep Sue Veal 01202 737372 levelis@aol.com
Internal Comp Sec. Terry Turner 01425 652691 terry.turner@we2u.co.uk
SAPA Representative Mike Grigsby 01202 895754 mikegrigsby07@me.com
Committee member Gerry Howard gerry.howard@btinternet.com
Committee member David Fletcher 01425 656849 david@david.fletcher.name
Webmaster Rex Waygood CONTACT US

You can see the Committee members HERE